Contea di Prince George, Maryland
When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it's important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace we do not provide legal advice, but we want to provide some useful links that may help you better understand laws and regulations in Prince George’s County. This list is not exhaustive, but it should give you a good start in understanding your local laws. We’ll continue to update this information as more becomes available. If you have questions, you can visit the county’s short-term rentals page, contact the Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement or other county agencies directly, or consult a local lawyer or tax professional.
Short-term rental regulations
Hosts in Prince George’s County are required to obtain a short-term rental license by April 1, 2020, to host short-term stays (less than 31 days) excluding hotel, motel, inn, boarding house, group residential facility, and fraternity or sorority houses. In addition, they are only eligible to obtain short-term rental license if the listing is their primary residence. Finally, they will be required to attest that the property is their permanent residence and demonstrate proof of ownership on the County’s online application.
Prince George’s County limits the number of days a listing may host short-term rentals in a calendar year. Owner-occupied listings may host up to 180 days per calendar year. Listings not occupied by the owner may host up to 90 days per calendar year.
All hosts on the Airbnb platform must apply for a permit through the County’s online registration system. Hosts will be required to complete a neighbor notification process, homeowners notification form, and upload some additional documents as a part of the application process - you can find the full list of required information in this checklist.
When you complete the online application and pay the $150 fee, you will be issued a 90-day temporary license to operate your rental. You can continue hosting with this temporary license while the county reviews your application. If your application is approved, the temporary license will convert to a permanent license at the end of the 90-day temporary license period.
Listing display requirement
You are required to list a valid short-term rental license number on any Airbnb listing. To add your license number to your listing:
- Under Manage Listing, go to Local Laws
- Enter your license number in the License or registration number field
Renewing your registration
You’ll need to renew your license annually and pay an annual $150 fee. Licenses expire one year from the date they are issued.
Other contracts and rules
As a host, you need to understand and abide by other contracts or rules that bind you, including leases, co-op rules, HOA rules, or other rules established by tenant organizations. You should be able to find out more by contacting your housing authority (such as a community council) or landlord. Your lease (or other contract) might also have specific details.
Our commitment to your community
We are committed to working with local officials to help them understand how Airbnb benefits our community. Where needed, we will continue to advocate for changes that will allow regular people to rent out their own homes.
- Yountville, CaliforniaSe stai pensando di diventare un host Airbnb, ecco alcune informazioni che possono aiutarti a comprendere le normative applicabili nella tua…
- Pasadena, CaliforniaSe stai pensando di diventare un host Airbnb, ecco alcune informazioni che possono aiutarti a comprendere le normative applicabili nella tua…
- Orinda, CaliforniaSe stai pensando di ospitare con Airbnb, ecco alcune informazioni che possono aiutarti a comprendere le normative applicabili nella tua citt…